If you are seeking a divorce in Texas and you satisfy the residency requirements (i.e., lived in Texas for at least 6 months and the county in which you intend to file for at least 90 days), there is a mandatory 60-day waiting period from the date the divorce petition is filed until the court has authority to grant a divorce. You may be thinking: “That is a long time to wait; is there a way to shorten the time frame?” Yes , but the exception applies to cases involving domestic violence and protective orders.
If no matters are contested and the parties cooperate, then it is possible to be divorced the 61st day after the petition has been filed. We’ve helped many couples get divorce that quickly. However, in most instances, issues are contested and the parties aren’t willing to cooperate to some extent.
In a moderately contested divorce, the time line typically runs 4 to 6 months. In highly contested cases involving disputes over children’s issues and/or a fight over substantial amounts of community property, the time line typically runs 9 to 18 months. These time lines are merely examples. The specific facts of each case drive the time line so it is not possible to predict with certainty how long “your” divorce might take.
Speak with a qualified divorce attorney to discuss the specific facts of your situation, so you can get a more “tailored” estimate of the time and expense involved in getting divorced.
Author Jim Cramp is a retired active duty colonel and the founder and principal attorney at the Cramp Law Firm, PLLC. The firm provides a spectrum of family law-related services to clients in the greater San Antonio region, across the United States and throughout the world. The firms also provides Wills and Estates and Probate services.